The Iron Kids Triatholon: A story about Lance Armstrong; by Joey

 When I was 13 years old I felt that I was finally ready to enter the iron kids triathlon.   

I trained long and hard. I got up early in the morning from 5:30 to 7:00 to swim in a nearby pool,and I biked long distances wile my mom and step dad argued like two birds fighting over a worm.

This triathlon contained 3 racing sports. First I would swim 2.4 miles, then I would ride my bike 112 miles, after that I would run 26.2 miles. Through I was described as an amateur I felt like a pro. When the race was about to start many thoughts raced through my head. “Could I really do this?”

I was very pressured this was an opportunity of a lifetime.

 The horn blasted and I bolted into the along with many other kids. I felt like I was on jet skis as the bubbles flew by me. I sprang out of the water and onto my bike. I could hear the wind whistle past my ears watching each contestant disappear out of sight. I could only imagine the look on my mothers face as I thrashed through the bike trail. I jumped off my bike and into my running shoes still I could not see anyone from behind me. Even then when I knew I did not need to I ran full speed with excitement. The audience is in shock with my stamina I was barley even panting.The referee handed me the gold medal and proclaimed “The winner is Lance Armstrong” I felt like a winner I felt like a pro and not like an amsteur as they described me as. It was the greatest moment of my life…

                                                                                                                                As far as I knew.

Author’s Note

 

This is a story about Lance Armstrong and how he won his first triathlon. Lance Armstrong is most famous for when he won 7 consecutive gold medals in the Tour de France after recovering from cancer. If you were wondering that is what I referd to when I said “It was the greatest time of my life as far as I knew” 

 

Leave a comment